An indoor stealth coop?

Candachan

In the Brooder
10 Years
Dec 12, 2009
Omaha
Hey guys,

I'm pretty new to everything, and have no chickens yet but will probably consider it next year. If I do get chicks, it would only be 2 or 3, and they will probably be Bantams. They will also be primarily indoors.

Long story short, I have been looking at plans for stealth coops like the "trashcan" coop, and it got me thinking...has anyone here ever done a DIY or converted coop out of a piece of furniture? I've seen coops made from trucks, kid's playhouses, and other wonderful things, and I am trying to get ideas in a similar vein but with a piece of indoor furniture like a desk or a dresser, maybe even something like a heirloom chest or a sideboard cabinet? I would love to have a piece of furniture that secretely holds chickens inside, what a suprise!

I have seen conversions like this that have been used to keep snakes and reptiles in, they are beautiful and go unnoticed if you need them to be. I am thinking of getting a piece from Goodwill or Craigslist and either converting it mostly intact or harvesting pieces of the facade and using it to mask a coop I make myself. If I was converting an original piece, I would probably line the inside with something like melamine board for easy cleaning, put up some roosts and a nest box, etc. If I wanted to get fancy I could cut out the bottom and put wire in or construct something to where the bottom could be slid out like in a kennel or critter cage.

I have a large wire dog crate that could also be used as a run or a holding pen when the birds weren't galavanting free inside with their little diapers on.

I think this could be an excellent chance to explore some creative alleys, and I would love to see what you all think. I'm fairly new to DIY stuff, so any tips/ideas/concerns/comments are very appreciated.

loak2.jpg

Solid-Oak-Modern-Large-Sideboard-LK-0723-.jpg

Quote: