Anyone have a rooster that didn't crow???

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Nicole01, May 16, 2011.

1. Nicole01

Nicole01 Overrun With Chickens

Mar 28, 2011
    MN
    My neighbors clearly said no roosters to us. I'm sure we are allowed 1 rooster. I hear them from time to time in the neighborhood. I bought a couple chicks straight run and I'm totally attached to them all. I'd be crushed if I in fact have a rooster due finding a new home. What if I have a quiet rooster?

Has anyone ever had a rooster that didn't crow or only crowed 1-2 tines a day?

2. Tawodi

Tawodi Out Of The Brooder

Oct 24, 2010
    southern AZ
    I am new to this all, but all mine crow. Since he doesn't want you to have a roo, get a male guinea. [​IMG] that may change his mind

3. tiffanyg2

tiffanyg2 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 26, 2011
    SC
    Quote:I'm hoping I will!!! [​IMG] I'm dearly attached to my babies and it would break my heart having to give them up! I might move him indoors if he crows [​IMG]

I hope you have all girls or a silent rooster!

4. ragerkid2

ragerkid2 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 16, 2011
    Johnstown Pa
    Why would you get a straight run if you didn't want roo's???

5. Egghead_Jr

Egghead_Jr Overrun With Chickens

Oct 16, 2010
    NEK, VT
    If your neighbor is adamant about no roosters then you'll be straining relations in keeping one. It's up to you if keeping roosters, your probably within your right to have one (check your zoning codes), is worth bad neighbor relations.

I'll be giving a rooster a try this year, we've no regulations on chickens here, though if loud rackets commence 5am I'll be rehoming it immediately. Hoping it refrains until the coop is opened after 6:30am and isn't overly earth shattering. On too small a lot to put neighbors through that and there are noise ordinances to consider too.

6. lleighmay

lleighmay Chillin' With My Peeps

May 21, 2008
    Woodlawn, VA