1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

apple cider vinegar in water.?? lother egg laying tricks

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by bahamas, Apr 4, 2010.

1. bahamas

bahamas Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 16, 2010
    i've read some people put vinegar in their chickjens water.does this help with laying eggs can i add thinks like milk and freshly juiced vegetable juice to my water ( of course changes daily ) / Wjat tricks do u recommend for chicks pullets and cock and hens stages of development and how does it affect the way they act and lay.??[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]:bow

2. Twitchy

Twitchy Out Of The Brooder

Dec 11, 2008
    I'm new to all this, so maybe I'm wrong, but I thought vinegar was used more to increase the acidity of the water slightly and act as a disinfectant. It can't replace cleaning your waterer, but it can make it last longer between cleanings.

3. Bear Foot Farm

Bear Foot Farm Overrun With Chickens

Mar 31, 2008
    Grifton NC
    I wouldn't add milk of juice to their water, no matter how often I intended to change it

4. tcmstalcup

tcmstalcup Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 4, 2010
    Texas
    ACV is known as a folk digestive aid. I use it but I put it on feed. I use the raw stuff from the health food store. It doesn't make my hens lay more as much as I believe it improves their over all health which in turn would help them be more productive. I actually started using it on my horses along with flax seed. I do think it helped my old horse with his joints and it is rumored to help keep internal parasites to a minimum. Nothing is proven but folks have been using it a long time and I believe its beneficial.

5. Beekissed

Beekissed True BYC Addict