Are these chickens pet, breeding, or show quality?

Vnctan

Songster
9 Years
Apr 4, 2010
Bangor,CA 95914
I am a beginner and I have a black Silkie rooster and a black Sumatra hen and I'd like to know how good the quality is on them. Are they pet quality, breeding quality, or show quality? If you could tell me and explain your decision that would be great. Thanks

SANY1165.jpg

SANY1170.jpg

SANY1166.jpg

SANY1167.jpg

They're both pet quality, I think. Silkies shouldn't have single combs, and Sumatras aren't supposed to have crests.
smile.png

sorry there simply pet quality...your hen's not a sumatra though..shes a silkie cross

They are both Silkie crosses. If you just want pets to learn about keeping chickens then they are OK.

I can understand them being pet quality but I don't see how they are mixed. My rooster looks just like this pic I found on Feathersite.

BkSilkCUK.jpg

And my hen looks a lot more like this first pic than the second pic.

blksumatrahen.jpg

BkSilkHsUK.jpg

It would help if you could get a front shot of the rooster's comb, from the side it looks like a single comb, rather than a walnut comb. And the hen has a crest on top of her head, which is a silkie characteristic. It is possible for a silkie mix to have smooth feathers, if one of the parents had smooth feathers.

I know nothing about Silkies, but I can tell you that your Sumatra hen does have an odd crest on her head and she has larger wattles than desirable for a Sumatra.
Not a thing in the world wrong with them as pet quality, though.
Believe me, until someone explained what to me, were very subtle differences, I didn't know. PQ and SQ differences can be VERY small or very obvious.

Its how genetics work. When a silkie breeds with a non silkie the offspring are not silkie but have crests, like your hen. Your rooster has a straight comb and it should be a walnut comb.

This is a silkie cross hen. You can see her feathers aren't silkie but she has a crest.
2653374865_ca121f21cc.jpg