Arsenic in backyard chickens?

Status
Not open for further replies.

sltrib

Hatching
9 Years
Jul 6, 2010
I'm a web producer for The Salt Lake Tribune and ran across your forum. Thought you all might be interested in this story in our paper from yesterday:
Utah study points to arsenic in backyard chickens: (Link removed by Staff)

Last edited by a moderator:
Interesting...[goes to read the ingredients on her bags of feed]

The problem is here:

The Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR), the EPA’s toxics laboratory, gave the Health Department a grant to test eggs from the Mapleton family’s hens, as well as the feed they were eating. The state turned up arsenic concentrations of 1.9 parts per million in the feed and 0.055 ppm in the eggs. Although the FDA allows almost 10 times more arsenic in eggs than the Health Department measured, the children who ate the tainted eggs developed levels considered toxic by the ATSDR.

And once the children stopped eating the family’s eggs, and once the chickens were given arsenic-free feed to eat, contamination levels declined, follow-up tests showed.

“We tested regular grocery store eggs,” McNaughton added, “and they did not have any arsenic.”

‘It’s not there’ » The Intermountain Farmers Association, which sells the feed the Mapleton family had fed its hens from the start, disputes the health department’s findings and is asking the agency to retract its study, said Layne Anderson, vice president for agricultural operations.

He said there is no roxarsone — nor any other arsenic-containing additive — in the co-op’s feed. In fact, there’s none at any of its facilities in five states, Anderson said.

“It’s not in there,” he said of the company’s chicken feed. “The levels of arsenic would be much higher if that was in it.”

He said the arsenic found in the feed tested at the Health Department reflects nothing more than background levels,
and it is irresponsible to suggest otherwise.