Assisted Hatching - Hen Squashed Egg (GRAPHIC PHOTO)

Offshoreorca

Whale Whisperer
Apr 15, 2020
Nova Scotia
My Coop
My Coop
It's been an eventful past 12 hours, but I thought I would share what I have learned with you. Now, I will add a disclaimer that I am a marine biologist who comes from a family of veterinarians, so this is definitely not my first exposure to assisted hatching.

I had two Day 21ish eggs in the coop under my broody silkie - my "second incubator". I had cleaned my sole incubator and put in my Marans eggs as they were sold to me older than I would have liked. Around noon, I went out to check on the eggs and noticed that several of the other hens had decided they wanted to nest with the broody silkie. To my horror, I saw that one of the eggs that was to hatch lay crushed beneath the pile. Pretty solidly crushed, blood oozing through the shell fragments - the whole nine. I thought it was a write off for sure, so close to beginning to hatch, yet with the veins still bold and red in the membrane. Regardless, I rushed it inside, stemmed the bleeding as best I could with some flour (what I had on had - and the white stuff in the image) and tucked it underneath the running Titan brooder cradled in some paper towel and in its own bowl to keep the other chicks away. It hadn't even internally pipped yet and I felt devastated.

93B78ADE-4E24-43E4-929E-8381A6ADB7F9.JPG