Bad limping (with video) - is her leg joint dislocated

lightm

Don't Peck On Me
Premium Feather Member
Jan 31, 2022
Southeast NC
This morning our hen Poopy would not come out of the coop. It turns out that she is limping very bad. She can barely walk.

She has been isolated in a cage during the day when we work. I just took this video this afternoon. I am really hoping that she can recover on her own with enough rest. It may be a few days or a week before we can see a vet if we can locate one at all.

I'd appreciate if anyone can take a look and offer advice. She is otherwise fine!

Poor little Poopy!
You know I am not a chicken expert but I do have some experience with trauma in people. So take this for whatever it is worth.
She is able to bear weight so unlikely that her leg is broken. And from what I can see she can also use her toes so probably not nerve damage.
It also doesn't look like it is her foot pad hurting her (although you should check under her foot for a wound or bumblefoot anyway).
Therefore I am thinking she has a sprain. Did she jump off a high roost or get in a fight?

She is walking very much like my Maggie did after she flew away from a fox and landed like a canon ball. I did not isolate Maggie as I didn't want her to get depressed and it took about 6 weeks to return to normal. She rested it herself a lot either by standing on one leg or sitting down.

I am not sure you need to isolate Poopy but it might be good to give her a bit of anti-inflammatory pain medicine like aspirin or Tylenol.

Poor little Poopy!
You know I am not a chicken expert but I do have some experience with trauma in people. So take this for whatever it is worth.
She is able to bear weight so unlikely that her leg is broken. And from what I can see she can also use her toes so probably not nerve damage.
It also doesn't look like it is her foot pad hurting her (although you should check under her foot for a wound or bumblefoot anyway).