1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Barred Rock laying age

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Young MacDonald, Aug 3, 2009.

1. Young MacDonald

Young MacDonald Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 19, 2009
    St. Louis, MO
    Hi,

I know that the average age that hens start to lay is 20 -24 weeks, but I also know that some breeds lay at earlier, some later, some right in the middle, etc.

What has your experience been with Barred Rocks. Are they early layers?

Thanks.

2. joedie

joedie Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 17, 2009
    SW Indiana
    I have two. One started at 16 wks, the other at 20.

1 person likes this.
  3. Suburban chick farmer 09

Suburban chick farmer 09 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 21, 2009
    St. Louis MO
    I'm new to chickens but my 2 BRs were the first to lay out of the 5 breeds I have. I think they layed at around 19 weeks.

4. Young MacDonald

Young MacDonald Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 19, 2009
    St. Louis, MO
    Thanks for the responses. My two Barred Rocks look so mature, but they aren't laying yet. They're 20 weeks - hopefully they'll start soon.

5. norcal

norcal Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 10, 2009
    Northern California
    My BR's first egg was laid today, at 18 weeks. Unfortunately it was eaten, probably by them all. [​IMG] So bummed, I've waited MONTHS. [​IMG] [​IMG]

Last edited: Aug 3, 2009
  6. cmom

cmom Hilltop Farm

Nov 18, 2007
    Florida
    My Coop
    I don't really think that the breed of chicken determines when they should start laying. Each bird is different. no matter what their breed is. Some start laying earlier than others and some later. The red combs and wattles and the squat are good signs when they are about to start laying.

1 person likes this.
  7. ColoradoMike