Best permethrin to get rid of mosquitoes and gnats

Smileybans

Crowing
Nov 13, 2020
Upstate New York
The new place I moved my coop is by the crick behind my house. There are tons of mosquitoes and all kinds of other flying bugs. I want to make sure my chickens are safe from these flying bugs since they can fly through the fencing. I read that spraying the outside of the coop with permethrin will keep them away. But there are so many kinds. What’s the best or most effective one? I’ve never used the spray before. Only the dust.

They all will work it depends on what concentrate you get. I use the concentrate and mix it for the 0.5% solution. Here is a chart a BYC member made for the different concentrates. Good luck...
casportponyPermethrinChart.jpg

Neither.

1.7 oz is approx 50 ml. Mixed to 1 Gallon of water, makes a 0.5% solution.
.85 oz is approx 25 ml. Mixed to 1 Gallon of water, makes a 0.25% solution.
This is for Permethrin SFR 36.8% concentrate. Which is usually only available online.
etc.

Note that Permethrin is great for ticks and other crawly things - like mites. It disrupts their nervous system, and kills 'em dead. It is NOT a repellant. Unlike, say, DEET. Permethrin breaks down rapidly on the skin, and for the tiny bit absorbed thru the skin, in the liver of all mammals (though cats lack much of the essential enzyme to do so, and are much more sensitive to it than most), as well as more slowly in sunlight. Which is why humans going hunting wash their clothing in permethrin solution, rather than spraying it on themselves - they are dangerous to it!!!

There is less information (that I've seen) as to how chicken's skin might break down permethrin, but given their feathers, skin contact is expected to be de minimis.

Also, permethrin is REALLY bad for fish - don't spray it near your favorite koi pond, or empty the excess in the local stream.