Blood at pip hole.

Tstraub

Crowing
Apr 6, 2023
Bluffton, Indiana
I’m pretty new to incubation and chickens in general. Today is hatch day and I have 5 out so far and at least 4 pips that I can see. One of the pips has blood coming out. Not like running out but it’s definitely red around the hole. I can see the chicks beek and it’s still moving and continuing to open the hole up. What are its chances of surviving? Can I do something to help?

Attached is a picture its the dark brown marans egg in the back

Attachments

• E1B2FB45-2EBA-4394-97B7-67DA66F98E89.jpeg
    E1B2FB45-2EBA-4394-97B7-67DA66F98E89.jpeg
    313.1 KB · Views: 85
It’s dried off but it doesn’t look right. I believe it has wry neck. It spends most of its awake time looking straight up. It can walk around but it’s way off balance and isn’t really looking where it’s headed. It was getting trampled by the other chicks so I went ahead and broke lockdown and quickly retrieved all dry chicks and moved them to a brooder. I don’t see any open pips so I felt somewhat safe opening it up. The incubator humidity dropped from 75 to 50 but recovered within just a few minutes.

The one with the crooked neck is in an isolation box inside the brooder where she can stay warm but not get trampled. After doing some research I believe the next step in to try to get some vitamin E and selenium in her. If she doesn’t make a turnaround in a day or so I’ll probably have to cull her. I simply don’t have the time to hand feed and water her several times a day. If she looks to get well enough to eat and drink on her own by the time she needs to eat and drink I’ll end it rather than let her starve.

Please know if this sounds like a good plan or if I’m doing something wrong.