Breed Selection Advice/Information

BonnieBlue

Songster
Apr 20, 2022
I am hoping that in 2024, I have things in order to move from the burbs, back to a rural area. (I miss rural living!)

Of course, I am day dreaming now about a larger coop, and more hens. I currently have 5 girls that are just over 22 weeks old. Three easter eggers and two olive eggers. My only stipulations are:

Good layers
Docile
Heat tolerant

Egg color doesn't matter, However, all of the ones I have seen that lay white eggs and have higher egg count averages are listed as flighty. I am not concerned about meat birds, but dual purpose is not a problem. I prefer not broody, but I'm flexible on that.

I am new to keeping chickens myself, and my father only had Rhode Island Reds, and a couple of Easter Eggers, so I don't know a lot about breeds, and am reading as much as I can to learn.

I know I am at least a few months out, but never to early to start planning a larger coop or how to fill it!

Thanks for any information you can give, as I navigate this journey of learning more about, and keeping, chickens.

I say stick to two breeds to start out. I had Australorp roosters and they were very nice. Orpington are very nice, as are Brahma. The Australorps could roost fine at 3 feet high. The Orpington flew up to the greenhouse rafters (hens getting away from the roosters). The Brahma find that 3 feet is too high. So, lower roosts for heavy birds.

I have 2 production hybrid girls they're Lohmann Brown but will be 99% the same as other production hybrids like Isa Brown, Sex link, etc. They've given me 1 egg each everyday for the past 50+ days, 2 double yolks already. But I also have a Wyandotte, EE, and Orpingtons. All are good choices

Colored layers: Easter eggers & olive eggers (luck of the draw some of them are friendly some of them aren’t)