1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Breed suggestions

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by FlChickenMama, Jul 29, 2016.

1. FlChickenMama

FlChickenMama Just Hatched

Jul 26, 2016
    Central FL
    Hey everyone, I'm new to BYC but I've been around chickens my whole life. I usually just buy whatever my local feed store has in the spring but I want something different this time. Something a little more rare. I currently have 3 Barred rock hens. they are 4 years old HUGE and pushy as hell. The biggest frequently chases my 2 year old. [​IMG]

I'm looking to add in about 5 or 6 more hens. I live in Central FL so a good heat tolerant variety would be great. I don't care about them laying tons of eggs or the color of the eggs. I more or less just enjoy watching them scratch around the yard and would like to raise a few really pretty varieties. They need to be able to stand up against Big Bertha (as we have dubbed her).

Thank you.

Last edited: Jul 29, 2016
  2. FlChickenMama

Jul 26, 2016
    Central FL
    shameless bump

3. SueT

SueT Chillin' With My Peeps

May 27, 2015
    SW MO
    Hi FLchickenmama, I have a young barred rock and hope she doesn't grow up to be pushy! Because I have a Rhode Island Red that's pushy. Anyway, I suggest you look at all the breed reviews, they're full of info, photos, advice, etc. There are forums on specific breeds as well. I love to go to county fairs and see the poultry displays and talk to all the chicken people. There are a lot of them here in July and Aug, I don't know about in FL, tho I used to live in Melbourne before my chicken days. Good luck!

4. FlChickenMama

Jul 26, 2016
    Central FL