Brooding bantam and regular sized chicks together or separate?

hostile_chicken

Hatching
Jan 17, 2024
Hi, noob here! I’ve been doing research in anticipation of getting a mixed flock of 8 chicks in March/April. Im getting both bantam and regular sized chicks, which I’ve read can be fine together as adults but I’m finding mixed information on whether they should be in the same brooder.

Some seem to say they should be raised together, just make sure they have space, multiple feeders and good temps so they don’t crush under one heat plate. Other says separate them.

What do y'all think? Thanks for the help!

If it helps I’m planning on an Orpington, Ameraunca, 2 Polish, Silkie, 2 D’Uccle, and a Maran. Thanks so much!

I have heard the exact opposite of that. When they hatch, a chick's a chick pretty much. It's when they get older and they become an adult when the issues usually occur.

I may not be aware of some breed of baby chick that can't be put with others, but as long as they are all chickens, they should be fine. I've had a day-old silky with 3 speckled sussex that were 3 weeks old. Quite a difference in size but they all got along fine.

Attachments

• silkie and ss.jpg
    silkie and ss.jpg
    123.8 KB · Views: 7
I have heard the exact opposite of that. When they hatch, a chick's a chick pretty much. It's when they get older and they become an adult when the issues usually occur.

I may not be aware of some breed of baby chick that can't be put with others, but as long as they are all chickens, they should be fine. I've had a day-old silky with 3 speckled sussex that were 3 weeks old. Quite a difference in size but they all got along fine.
Your photo makes me feel better!