Bumblefoot doesn’t seem to be healing **pictures in post**

arfarmer

In the Brooder
May 8, 2021
Hello!

Looking for any advice on my Bumblefoot situation…

I am fairly new to owning chickens, this is my 3rd summer with them. I have 6 hens, 4 of which have Bumblefoot in both feet. 2 of them have minor cases in one foot. I have re-vamped their coop and run - I removed a metal wash style bin I had been using as a dust bath (my mistake, I feel terrible about it and will be switching to a couple of tires). And have also lowered their roosting bars.

I realized they had Bumblefoot on July 23 and started soaking and removing the dark plug. I removed bits of infection, but it was ribbony in all of them (except the two with minor cases, I have only been soaking theirs). I took one to the vet on July 26th and she gave me iodine and some hemostats so I could remove as much of the infection that I could. I have been doing a 20 min epsom salt soak each day and then putting a sugardine poultice on them. They just don’t seem to be getting better. So many posts say there is a kernel, but I can’t feel anything hard in the bottom of their foot, they are all fairly squishy. I have attached pictures with dates. Any help/advice is appreciated 😊 I feel like I’m not getting anywhere and am not confident that these are healing properly…

Attachments

• IMG_0541.jpeg
    IMG_0541.jpeg
    318.5 KB · Views: 44
  • IMG_0363.jpeg
    IMG_0363.jpeg
    397.1 KB · Views: 19
  • IMG_0326.jpeg
    IMG_0326.jpeg
    534.9 KB · Views: 19
I am currently treating one of my hens for bumblefoot. I am not confident in my ability to safely or completely remove the bumble, so I took Valentina to the vet Monday.

I know your approach of a sugardine poultice is more natural, and I am always in favor of such, especially as a first-line of defense.