Can you eat fertilized eggs?

AshleyBickle

In the Brooder
7 Years
Aug 14, 2012
Traverse City, MI
I have three hens and one rooster.. They are all kept together. My plan from the beginning was to raise these chickens as egg layers but i ended up with a rooster also. So im curious if i can keep them together once they reach maturity and start laying. I plan to remove all eggs laid daily but didnt know if i should separate the rooster from the flock once they do start laying. Im completely new to this whole thing so just not sure if its safe to eat fertilized eggs or not?

It is fine to eat fertilized eggs, if you don't incubate or leave them under a broody, you will not get chicks

Last edited:
I did some research on this question prior to asking it. I found that as long as you remove the eggs daily its fine if they are fertilized i just wanted to get a second opinion. So thanks!
lol.png

you don't even have to worry about removing them daily. It's only an issue if you have a hen that goes broody. You will tell because she will park herself in the nest and never leave. :) Other than that, there is no difference at all between a fertilized egg and an unfertilized one.

When I was in the Philippines I learned that earthquakes will cause the embryo to stop developing, so to avoid wasting fertilized eggs that were partially developed they boil and eat them. Yes it's gross for us Americans, but it shows that you have nothing to fear from eating a fertilized egg. You won't be eating a balut, so you won't have the feathers, but if you refrigerate the egg within hours of it being laid you'll never know the difference between it and an egg that isn't fertilized.

It's very safe to eat fertilized eggs. When I worked at a hatchery, once a month a family will order eggs that are 18 days old. It's called Balut. I was told it's really good tasting.