Can you make a chicken go broody?

Top Rooster

Crowing
7 Years
Aug 16, 2015
North East Oklahoma
Lately I've been having a lot of eggs and I was wondering if I could make a chicken go broody to see a little chicken family see how it goes but none of the hens go broody I have 2 buff orphingtons and other chickens 1 rooster if you know a way to make a chicken go broody please tell me thanks

In a post above I've described how to induce a hen to go broody; this I have been doing for many years. I have read many posts that relate that this can not be-that a hen goes broody only when her hormones are ready. This I believe, but the production of hormones can be made to happen. I look to wild birds; all of them have a set clutch size. A robin lays four eggs and then broods-a loon lays two eggs and then broods- a hummingbird and pigeons lay two eggs and then brood-button quail lay eight to ten eggs and then brood-etc. When the clutch is laid hormones are produced and the bird broods. The difference between our chickens and wild birds is that one is natural and the other is not. Wild birds will not brood an empty nest-chickens often do, but like wild birds chickens with maternal instincts will go broody when they have a full clutch. Yes. Hen do go broody when eggs are collected; it just isn't something that can be planned.

This spring I decided to test my method with a number of hens over the summer starting in April. First I started with four hens; each has become broody two or three times this summer all using the procedure described in my previous post. Then I tried this with a serama pullet who just started to lay-six eggs later she became broody. Eight days ago another serama started to lay and, again, she started to brood this morning after laying six eggs.