Chick raising Diary! šŸ£ First time raising babies, with a first-time broody-mother (cute chick photos incoming!)

Pics

Ambera

Chirping
Apr 10, 2022
Somerset, UK
Hi,

I intend to use this as a little diary of my excitement raising chicks for the first time ever! I've kept chickens for well over 10 years now, but this is my first time with chicks! Please let me know if this isn't allowed, or if you're interested in following along!

Feel free to offer advice for my many questions along the way :) it's all a learning experience!

It's gotton to a sad state where I only have two hens, Lily - a white/silver sussex and Pepper - a speckly coloured Chalk Hill Blue hybrid. They're both around two years old. We're based in Somerset, UK - so the weather here is unpredictable!

Background

It was all down to Lily, who decided to go broody in late August.. I spent a week chucking her off the nest as usual, then my friend suggested putting some eggs under her. She just happened to have a cheeky bantam Pekin cockerel called Marcel, who was keeping his flock of 5 Lohmann hens very happy! Here are the parents of the eggs:
2023-08-29 Marcel and his ladies.png

On 29th August, I slipped 6 eggs under Lily and let her brood for 3 weeks.... She was dedicated! Never leaving the nest, I had to lift her off so she would go eat/drink.

I pencilled numbers onto the eggs, though by week 3 these had long rubbed off!

I had my first chicken egg candling experience (I've candeled turtle eggs, but never chickens!), candling them on Days 7 and 10.
One egg sadly got smashed by Lily around Day 10, leaving a mess for me to clean in the nest box. Another two turned out to be infertile, so I removed them around Day 10, leaving us with just 3 eggs.