Chicken ears with yellow gunk

Kmcatx

Chirping
Feb 26, 2022
Hi, I have a 3 year old hen who has been having ear problems for several months. She shakes her head and does yawning motion. I first noticed the feathers around her ears were crusty. Now sometimes she has sticky yellow stuff in her ears. Any thoughts? Infection? I’m getting close to taking her to the vet.
I’ve been cleaning out her ears for 2-3 months. Sometimes it’s worse than other times. Tried anti-fungal, Monistat, antibiotic ointment and ear mite treatment. Other than the ears she seems healthy.
Any thoughts are welcome! Thanks.
FE40DB69-F537-47A1-91E4-C49E5A072B6A.jpeg
910BE928-8DCB-41E1-B3AB-EEFCBAAF7C4B.jpeg
447F78C1-6D92-447A-B362-A8F06EE29DC6.jpeg

I would get the vet to take a swab to culture it, and see if it is bacterial or fungal. Different bacteria require an antibiotic that would be specific for that bacteria.

Thank you! That’s what I was thinking when I woke up this am. I tried some amoxicillin but maybe not best route. I’ll consult with vet and take advantage of having that option. Cheers

Thanks for update!! Don't always get 'em ;-) so thank you!! Yea- that she's all better!!😍 Great photos too!

Man, I guess I got LUCKY ??? as my girl had WAY worse crust (down her neck and under her beak even) and a few drops of miticide (for kitties/dogs) got rid of it immediately- I did nothing else so assume it was that! ?! :idunnoI'm only 3 yrs into this!! and their ears are still a bit of a mystery to me!!

Also- it wasn't just up around her ear like this- so maybe her swollen ear was coincidental... (wrote about it on another thread about ear issues as someone mentioned mites in the ears- I had never even considered that despite having always had kittens who seem to be BORN with them (ear mites), eh?! 🤣 (think subconscious was what led me to try what I'd ordered for first aid kit out of habit...)