Chicken processing remains for dogs?

lmblackburn

In the Brooder
10 Years
Aug 19, 2009
Mon. County, WV
This is my first year raising meat birds. We have 10 to be butchered in another month or two, BOs and BRs. I own a Greater Swiss Mnt. dog and thought it would be cool if I could use some of the chicken bits that we won't eat for him as dog food and/or treats. So, do any of you do this already? Can the blood be made into anything or just frozen and doled out as treats? I am very interested in learning what bits you give your dogs and how to prepare them.

Thanks!

ours love the necks and they are REALLY good for their teeth. You can take the gizzard.liver and heart and grind them up in to a dog food if you wish with the fee and necks too.

I think it's a great idea.

My lab is a raw fed dog. So far her chicken eating experience has just been with grocery store birds but I hope to raise some of those 'unwanted' layer breed cockrels for her to eat.

I do feed her all sorts of scraps from the wild game (deer, squirrels, rabbits, doves) that I take during hunting season. She loves it.

Our dogs are on a raw diet.

They love the leftover carcass of any animal we butcher. I don't do anything to any of it. Just give it to them and they drag it off and eat it.

I give my dogs the heart, liver, kidneys, gizard and neck right off the bat. I do cook them, but only because I feel like it, not because they need them cooked. I cook the whole batch up then put it in tubs in the fridge and freezer to add in small amounts to their regular food at each meal. I also keep all trimmings from a cooked bird and do the same, the skin, fat, juices, etc that we don't eat. In fact, all meat scraps at our house end up in a tub that I dole out to the dogs in small amounts. They love mealtime!

I toss out all the extra parts, the dogs and cats go crazy!!!!!!the only thing that gets left behind are teh feathers and the guts. My dogs love the feet and they all fight for the organs.