Chocolate Orpington enlarged crawl and throwing up

Robin K.

Chirping
Jul 13, 2018
New Franklin, Ohio
My Coop
My Coop
My chocolate Orpington is very lethargic and not moving around. When I picked her up brown slime started running out of her mouth. I brought her inside and put her in a tub of warm water. She has thrown up about 1/2 cup. I am very new to being a chicken owner. Right now I have her wrapped up in a towel on a heating pad.

It sounds like she has a crop disorder, possibly impacted or sour crop. What does her beak smell like? How old is she? How long has she been sick? What does her crop feel like—hard, soft, doughy, or puffy like a balloon? Can you give her some water with electrolytes and vitamins? If you have some plain yogurt or vuttermilk, I would offer her a small amount for probiotics. I will post some info about crop treatments.

My chocolate Orpington is very lethargic and not moving around. When I picked her up brown slime started running out of her mouth. I brought her inside and put her in a tub of warm water. She has thrown up about 1/2 cup. I am very new to being a chicken owner. Right now I have her wrapped up in a towel on a heating pad.
How old is she?
When was the last time she laid an egg?

It sounds like she has a crop problem, but that is often a symptom of an underlying condition.
Feel her abdomen - is there any bloat/swelling or feeling of fluid?

When you feel the crop - is it hard, soft, squishy?
I would be careful picking her up or leaning her over since they can aspirate fluid into their lungs.

Is she pooping at all?
Photos and/or video are always welcome.

How old is she?
When was the last time she laid an egg?

It sounds like she has a crop problem, but that is often a symptom of an underlying condition.
Feel her abdomen - is there any bloat/swelling or feeling of fluid?

When you feel the crop - is it hard, soft, squishy?
I would be careful picking her up or leaning her over since they can aspirate fluid into their lungs.