Colour variants in Coturnix quail?

pterry97

Songster
Apr 5, 2021
Hi all,
Recently I posted about getting button quail eggs for the first time. It wasn’t until someone helpfully pointed out to me that the eggs weren’t that of button quail at all... I can only assume they are actually Coturnix quail instead (got duped in the purchase it seems). My mistake for not realising quail eggs looked different, I’m still new to them.
Anyways, today was the big day, and all 7 of my eggs hatched out. I’ve read that there are different colour variants in them but couldn’t find a list regarding baby chicks, only adults, but most of my new arrivals surprised me with just how many variants they came out as. I can quite easily tell individuals apart at the moment haha.
Anyways, I was wondering if anyone could potentially tell me what colours I might be expecting with these guys? Many thanks.

Chip:
A7894E3C-EAFE-4BA4-9BBC-BCCAE69323A7.jpeg

Cookie:
12CC9478-24D6-49BD-ABBC-95FD8D6A26B1.jpeg

Rocky (has an underbite):
7DAE2E32-9CD1-4546-A009-592B6620A497.jpeg

Pea:
522B1FBC-C300-4C35-80C9-B47B8A3E9A57.jpeg

Plum:
FAA9A8B8-EB61-4ED4-AC44-7D8E6ECBADBA.jpeg

Peach:
02C9F5D2-863F-431B-A7BF-9DB662A875D0.jpeg

And lastly, Dot (they were upside down in the egg and couldn’t cap from the other side, so I had to assist hatch them):
6CCEA9C3-DB91-4055-AFD2-B1AC8709D536.jpeg

I'm going to assume that since the person lied to you when they sold you the eggs they probably don't separate their colors which means your quail all might be mixed, so you just might have to wait until they grow up to see what color they'll end up being.

But usually when you see the light yellow all on the underside and a color on the top side
It means they will be a tuxedo.
Tuxedos can be any color on the top but have a white underside.