coop conversion help please

chasot

In the Brooder
11 Years
Jul 16, 2008
georgia
I have ZERO experience(with chickens). I have moderate building skills.
I have avg. to avg.+ $

The good news is a have a small building I THINK will work well to convert.

it has inside measurements of 9' 4" wide , 11' 3" long ,peak hieght of 8' 4"
finished in dry wall, fully insulated, lockable metal door, and one insulated window.

It was a construction office and has and opening for window unit,and 60 amp pannel.

I don't have electricity to it, and don't know if that will be needed,if so I will have to move it to a more convenient local.

1. how do I go about the conversion?
2. remember ZERO experience!!
3. ordered 8 rhode island reds to be here 07/24/08 approx. so clock is ticking
4. how many Hens will fit in this area?
5. oh yes, eggs are the objective!
6. What am I overlooking?

any help most welcome!! chas in GA.( extreme north west GA.

thanks.

Looks like you have about 104 square feet there of space....So, I think you have too few birds if you figure on 4SqFt per bird in the coop.
wink.png
You should order a few more or plan on hatching as soon as things get cooler.
lol.png

Seriously though, you can fit 26 birds in that space. You might look in to cutting out another window so you can have cross ventilation when things get really hot. You might also consider putting in a box fan in one of the windows to draw hot air out.