Coop/run in the mountains questions

Mountain_artist

Songster
6 Years
Apr 6, 2018
Western North Carolina
Hi, I'm a newbie to everything! I've read this forum a LOT though.
We are about to build our first coop on our mountain lot, and there are so many variables that it's making my head spin.

We just got our first batch of 4 Barred Rock pullets 2 weeks ago (I hope! TSC does have a reputation where I live for sneaking in roosters when they're supposed to be pullets!)

My husband and I are artists and have tons of power tools and building experience. We know we need a Fort Knox style coop/run and we're prepared to do that! We live in the Smokey Mountains in the western tip of NC, and have 2 steep south facing acres to work with, but it's really hard to pick a good spot for the coop and run. It gets really hot in the summer and can get quite cold in the winter and can even dump feet of snow. NOTHING is level, besides the 10 feet next to our driveway and the little platform of land our house is built on. 2 acres sounds like a decent amount, but it is nothing like you are probably picturing--the acreage is all sloping, some very steep. It is all chopped up into little dug out platforms/house pad/driveway pad, with woods, a steep cliff in our backyard that goes up from our narrow shaded wet backyard, up to the top acre, which is an undeveloped plot of land, the small flat yard our house sits on, and a decent small field of grass on the other side of our gravel road. The whole thing is surrounded by national forest, so it is wild and every manner of predator lurks about--we even have to watch our children when outside!

In a nutshell, the options are:
1. Right next to house facing east, PROS: morning sun, afternoon shade, close to shed and hose, but CONS are poor drainage and smallest run potential, no windows or doors on that side of house so no opportunities to observe/check on bumps in the night, annoying spot that would cut off full use of our already small yard.