Creme Legbar x Araucana

Nasnro

Songster
6 Years
Nov 6, 2015
Ireland
Hello!
I'm new to breeding chickens. I have crossed a Creme Legbar roo with Araucana hens. The hens that I hatched came out as a barred black and white color and look very similar to the Araucana. They lay a small light green egg. If i were to sell the hens, what would I call them? A barred Araucana? or would they be considerd a hybrid? I can attach an Image of them tomorrow if that helps.
Thanks,
Ronan

Thanks for your replys. The CLB hens lay a bright blue egg and the Araucauna hens lay a light green egg. The Irish standard calls for either a blue or light green egg.

If I were to get a "Barred Araucauna" would I have to breed the crosses back to an purebred Araucauna To reinforce the Araucauna genetics? Or how would I go about it?

Thanks for your replys. The CLB hens lay a bright blue egg and the Araucauna hens lay a light green egg. The Irish standard calls for either a blue or light green egg.

If I were to get a "Barred Araucauna" would I have to breed the crosses back to an purebred Araucauna To reinforce the Araucauna genetics? Or how would I go about it?
I think that's how line breeding works, yes, and how you get new colors into a breed, but it would take many generations for them to be pure. I think barred aracaunas would be pretty.

A hybrid is a mix between species.