Day 17 incubation- weird candling question

Rachnwoody

In the Brooder
Nov 30, 2023
Hi, I am new to owning peafowl. One of our hens laid 4 eggs, we incubated them. We lost two in first two weeks. Removed them.
Two remaining eggs are at day 17, when candling they look very different, one chick (egg A) is very active, the other moves but not much and it’s seems to have a weird area on one side (egg B), I have attached photos for reference as it’s hard to explain.
Can anyone tell me if this is normal?

Attachments

• IMG_1410.jpeg
    IMG_1410.jpeg
    270.6 KB · Views: 114
  • IMG_1409.jpeg
    IMG_1409.jpeg
    227.1 KB · Views: 22
Hi, I am new to owning peafowl. One of our hens laid 4 eggs, we incubated them. We lost two in first two weeks. Removed them.
Two remaining eggs are at day 17, when candling they look very different, one chick (egg A) is very active, the other moves but not much and it’s seems to have a weird area on one side (egg B), I have attached photos for reference as it’s hard to explain.
Can anyone tell me if this is normal?
To me it looks like air cells on both of them but the one on the right is a little bit larger. Since they are both the same age egg in the same incubator, they should be very close to the same. It still could be okay and sometimes they're sleeping or tired when we candle them. Since it's still moving at day 17, I'd think it should make it.

Good luck on your hatch!!

To me it looks like air cells on both of them but the one on the right is a little bit larger. Since they are both the same age egg in the same incubator, they should be very close to the same. It still could be okay and sometimes they're sleeping or tired when we candle them. Since it's still moving at day 17, I'd think it should make it.

Good luck on your hatch!!
Sorry, both photos on my original post were egg B.
Egg B has a larger main air cell as well as the ‘weird section on the side.
I’ve attached more photos off both eggs.

Attachments

• IMG_1417.jpeg