Teacher1993

Hatching
May 1, 2020
Hi everyone!
Back story first. So this was an unexpected duck egg into my life. A mallard duck laid it next to my pool and then didn't come back for it. I got an incubator for it and it was growing. On day 25, I put more water in it for a higher humidity around 75%. On day 27, I opened the lid for 5 seconds to add more water. There was a small hole in which Humidity was seeping through.

Now today is day 29. No movement, no pipping (that I know of) Humidity is now 63%. Do I add more water? Should I be concerned that this mallard duck hasn't done anything with it being day 29? What do I do? I know nothing about ducks!!! I am freaking out and I do not want make a mistake.

Thank you in advance!

I'm new at hatching duck eggs myself, but learn from my mistakes. I was so disappointed to find several ducks 95% developed that failed to hatch. I believe I inadvertently created too many temperature changes in hindsight.

After my first hatch with only 25% success, I'm experimenting with an empty incubator and numerous thermometers and hydrometers including one that transmits data points to an app in my smart phone. Adding water when taking the top off lowers the temperature and takes longer than I would have thought to recover. If the incubator is actually on the low side of the range anyway due to not being calibrated properly like mine wasn't, then matters are worse.

I believe that's what happened to me on my losses and I hope it didn't happen to you too.

Thank you for the wonderful information. The duck did not survive. It probably died during the end of the third week. I can take this information and learn if I ever decide to hatch duck eggs on purpose.

Sorry to hear the duckling didn't make it. In case you want to try hatching one again sometime, I'll share what I'm learning. The ten ducklings that did hatch are definitely an entertaining bright spot.