Duck makes weird noises...

kara_leigh

Songster
8 Years
May 3, 2011
Bradleyville, MO
I am new to ducks, I just got mine less than two weeks ago, and they are all from different hatchings, so they are different ages. My oldest one is about 6 weeks old, and she has been making some weird noises. She is starting to get her "big girl" voice. Now, though, when she is resting she makes this weird honk-hum noise. It is hard to describe, but it sounds like she is snoring, only she is wide awake. She ONLY does it when she is relaxed and sitting. If she is up and walking around or eating, she doesn't do it.

Is this normal? Should I be concerned? None of my other ducks are doing it, so far anyway.

This is a head-scratcher..... hmmmm.

Any drainage from her nares? How's her poop?

Try giving her a warm (85 to 90 degree F) bath, make sure she dries herself off well, and while she's in the bath listen closely to her breathing.

Worst case she may have the beginning of a respiratory infection. Or it could be she snores. Somewhere in between, she may have something caught in her throat that only bothers her when she's in a resting position.

Do they get treats?

They get warm baths at least once every day, sometimes twice a day. She doesn't make this noise in the bath. I don't think she has anything stuck in her throat, and they don't get treats (although I gave them some penne a week ago, but they get grit outside in our rocky soil. For the past week they have only had feed, and this started a couple days ago. I wish I could record it, b/c it is really soft hum, like a really soft snore, but she is awake.

She did do this weird cough a couple times today, but she was eating at the time and other than that has been fine. I figured she just got a piece of food stuck for a second. I'm a stay at home mom, and they live in our living room, so I'm around them all day long. If she does have a URI, what should I do?

Storey's Guide writes about Chronic Respiratory Disease