Family Coops for Clan Breeding... And more!

Storybook Farm

Songster
Jun 5, 2015
Sugar Grove, WV
My Coop
My Coop
Hi All,

I've been keeping chickens for about three years and am now getting into serious breeding and selling peeps/eggs (next year). We decided to adopt a clan mating system, wherein we divide our 15 breeding hens and three breeding cocks into three "families" or "clans." Then, we rotate through new cockerels. This means that we won't have to import new blood (and its faults) for a long time, and can still maintain genetic diversity. (You can read all about this here, if the concept is new to you.)

The bottom line on all this is that we needed more chicken housing. Because I've been raising chickens and taking notes on what I wanted/needed/liked/disliked in chicken coops along the way, I had many ideas on what I wanted in new chicken housing for breeding.

Here were my criteria:
  1. EASY for ME
  2. Great for the birds: plenty of room, and access to foraging
  3. Clean air for me while tending birds
  4. As inexpensive as possible, but still achieving all of the above
  5. Coops should be able to be moved, even be chicken tractors if needed
  6. No need for electricity (for me) but ability to use it if needed (for others)
I am SO HAPPY with the hoop coop design that we came up with! The best thing about them is how easy they are for me to tend (see #1 above). I stand on this side and can fee, water, check for eggs, and open/close the pop door on the front of the coop without moving a foot! While we chose to make them stationary, it would be easy peasy to put wheels on the end with nesting boxes and use this design as a chicken tractor.
IMG_0352.PNG

In fact, they hit all six points above, however, and I'll add a 7th that I didn't even see coming: my grandkids love to tend the chickens and remain clean while doing so!
IMG_0411.JPG