feeding for chicks

sarahz

Hatching
12 Years
May 1, 2007
Hi everyone! I am a newbie here on BYC and have some questions. We just got our first chicken about 4 weeks ago and wondering:
1. When do we start feeding them adult feed?
2. What else can we feed them other than store bought feed? Starting when?
3. We go organic as much as we can around here and want to do the same with our chickens. But I've heard that the non-organic feed is 'almost' organic but double the money. Does anyone have any true knowlegde of this? I am more than willing to buy organic feed but if it really is not a HUGE dfference from the non-organic it would be nice to save some $ on the feed. Also, our vege-garden will be going in soon (I know, a bit late)--all organic too--so maybe there is a supplement food source?

I feed my chicks Purina Start and Grow. I don't know a thing about organic feeds.

I am planning on switching mine to adult feed at 18 weeks. That's what it says on the feed bag.

I'm not an expert, but I can try to answer at least some of your questions.
wink.png

1. First, what type of chicks are you raising? Meat birds? Layers?

If you are raising layers, they will need to stay on a chick starter, or starter/grower until around 18 weeks, or the first one lays an egg. Then you switch them to a layer feed. The calcium in layer feed is far too high for a chicks system to handle.

If they are Meat birds, then you should feed them a Meat Maker, or meat bird starter/grower until they are around 6 weeks old. Then you can either go the organic corn-fed way (which is what I plan to do) and feed them straight corn or scratch for the remaining 2-4 weeks until butcher.

2. Not sure if you meant treats, or that you want to mix your own feed, so I'll answer both.