Fertile eggs not developing...

jmead2003

In the Brooder
8 Years
Apr 29, 2011
We have a polish crested rooster who does his duties as rooster. We are on our second round of eggs in the incubator. The first dozen we put in the bator, there was no development. So after 6 days I pulled all the eggs out and started cracking. 7 out of the 12 were fertile, but it was nothing but yolk and white in the egg. So we tried again, we are now on day 4 of the new eggs in the bator and as of early this A.M. there is nothing going on inside the eggs.
So is it something we are doing wrong that the fertile are not developing? We take them still warm from the nest box and put them in the bator. The bator is set at 99.5 on the dot and 45-50% humidity. Or, could this mean there is something wrong with our rooster? If the rooster is infertile, would the eggs still have the little spot on them that indicates they are fertile? Any help is appreciated!!

Hi, there!
smile.png

I am very new to this incubation tecnique myself, but I think I can offer some help:
Are the eggs being turned? (I just know they should be turned, not really how often..)
idunno.gif

Sometimes I think its okay for the eggs to start developing a little later.
How many hens / 1 roo?
Other than those variables, it sounds like you are doing it right to me!
I really hope this helps you out!

Are you sure the eggs are fertile? The white so\pot should appear as a tiny donut. (hole in the middle). If you cracked the eggs & there was no development, the eggs were not fertile. Even if you rooster is breeding with the hens, it doesn't mean he is fertile. He may be young or he may not be fertile yet. Some Roosters take longer to become fertile than others

Our incubator has an auto egg turner, so we are good there! The spot in the yolk is donut shaped or like a bullseye. We have 7 hens to 1 roo. Roo is coming up on a year. I'm guessing it must mean he isn't fertile?!?!