five toes??

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by earnhardtlvr, Apr 14, 2011.

1. earnhardtlvr

earnhardtlvr Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 25, 2011
    Hagerstown, MD
    I'm a newbie to raising chickens so this is prob a dumb ?, but here goes: Silkies have 5 toes right? Well I am assuming that other breeds can have more than they r supposed to also?? I have what we think is a light brahma and I noticed today that it has 5 toes...so I guess it's just wishful thinking to hope that we were completely wrong and I someone got a silkie??

Ok, here is a pic of the baby we thought was a light brahma...she and her sister have the same coloring, 5 toes on each foot...any ideas? She was born April 4th.

[​IMG]

Last edited: Apr 14, 2011
  2. paramedic07

paramedic07 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 24, 2011
    Bergman, AR
    All Silkies Have BLACK SKIN AND The Five Toes Along With Favrolles, Dorkings, And I Think Top Hats LIKE HOUDANS AND SULTANS.

Last edited: Apr 14, 2011
  3. Sorin

Sorin Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 15, 2010
    Glenfield, ny
    The easiest way to tell if its a silkie is if it has black skin on the body and legs [​IMG]

4. Illia

Illia Crazy for Colors

Oct 19, 2009
    Forks, WA
    Quote:Houdans and Sultans [​IMG] Those are the "top hat" breeds w/ five toes.

5. earnhardtlvr

earnhardtlvr Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 25, 2011
    Hagerstown, MD
    I will take a pic of my baby with 5 toes and post it when I go out to take care of them. Please check back later to look at the pic and help me figure this out! [​IMG]

6. paramedic07

paramedic07 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 24, 2011
    Bergman, AR
    Quote:Houdans and Sultans [​IMG] Those are the "top hat" breeds w/ five toes.

thankya. i was drawing a blank on that.

7. Emmalion

Emmalion Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 2, 2011
    Western Massachusetts
    I have a mystery chick with 5 toes that no one on here can even identify. [​IMG]

[​IMG]