Goose People-Please advise

phasian

Songster
10 Years
Aug 27, 2009
Oregon
I am a poultry farmer who also works in horticulture and work part-time for a nursery that supports urban homesteading. A woman has contacted me wanting to buy a single gosling from either myself (I have a pair of American Buffs- goose is brooding 7 eggs right now) or the nursery (we order poultry from hatcheries for backyard flock keepers).

Has anyone successfully brooded one gosling-- and would you recommend it?

This lady seems nice, and has decided she wants a single goose for a pet as she and her family connected with one over the winter that had been dumped at a public park, and has since been killed. I have been trying to dissuade her from raising a gosling on its lonesome. She has no interest in raising ducks or a second goose. For my part, I will not sell her one from my farm as I don't think it's a kindness to the gosling and the goose it will become. She is trying to get me to order a single Toulouse from a hatchery now through our nursery which certainly doesn't change my feelings about its quality of life, no matter how caring the family.

Any feedback on this would be helpful and appreciated. I hate to disappoint people but knowing how social these fowl are, I think she is being a little unrealistic.

I have a single gosling (the only one that hatched) and he is now 3 weeks old. He is totally well balanced, but we do spend a lot of time with him. Large plastic tub in the living room when we watch TV. Lap time and outdoor walking time. Our 4 large dogs are great with him. He will later joint the adult ducks once he is feathered in. It can be done as long as you socialize with him. I think it will be fine with that lady, since she had been there before. Animals are amazing and can deal with a lot of situations. Ignoring an animal in isolation will hurt. Having it as part of the family is fine.