Growing Pigs or Hogs in winter

BarnyardChaos

Free Ranging
7 Years
Apr 23, 2017
Richmond, MO
I'd like to hear what everyone is doing to keep feeder pigs warm this winter, or even your pet pot-bellied pigs. I think I'm prepared for the coming storms and arctic winds this week (Saturday's temps forecast for 9-F high, and 0-F low!), but want to be sure I haven't missed something important, or could do something better for them.

My setup: I have six porkers, about 4-1/2 months old, Berkshire X Mulefoot, all gilts. My goal is meat production. Their slaughter date is Feb. 26th. (Unfortunately, I think I misread how much feed to give them early on, and as of yesterday, their average weight is only about 90lbs each. I'm now doubling or tripling their ration so that their feeders are never completely empty. Their body condition is good and they are very healthy, just not as big as they should be.) Please be kind. I'm new at this and doing the best I can.

I have them outdoors in a large pen, about 30' x 100', with a low-roofed 4-sided shed in the center. The shed is made of heavy-gauge sheet metal on a welded pipe frame, measures about 10'W x 8'L x 4'H, sloped metal roof, and an east-facing door about 2' x 2'. I've placed two plastic pallets inside to keep the pigs off the ground and it's kept well stuffed with wheat straw. Part of the front wall is hinged so I can raise it up and get inside, to clean it out or add more straw.