Pics

CharterChick

Songster
5 Years
Jul 21, 2014
Aberdeen, WA
My Coop
My Coop
I wanted to start a thread for people who might be hatching eggs in a classroom setting. Maybe to trade ideas, experiences, mistakes and of course successes! I look forward to reading any stories of anyone's classroom hatches!

This is my first time hatching chickens in a classroom. I am setting up eggs in our local head start preschool for ages 3-5 years old. I am using a Hovabator Genesis 1588 with an egg turner and plan to use the dry hatch method. I am hatching barnyard mixes from 3 flocks and some bantam cochins. I made a countdown chart, cutout chick hatching project, and chicken journal for the kids to learn about chickens, eggs, incubators, candling and hatching.

The Journal/Coloring Book

https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/chicken-coloring-book-for-preschoolers

I haven't set the eggs yet. Right now the incubator is sitting empty in the classroom so they get used to it and learn not to touch it. I have talked to the kids and answered the major questions they had. The biggest one was "When will they(eggs) turn into chickens?" When I said 21 days they asked if I could do it in 5 days!
lau.gif
My favorite question was "Can I sit on an egg at home and make a chicken?" Love teaching the little ones about chickens! It's so much fun!

I am going to try to fill the incubator (42 eggs) and I will number the eggs. The kids can pick a number and follow the progress with their journal. If their egg quits there will (hopefully) be enough eggs to switch their egg to a developing one. When I candle the eggs I plan on candling the numbers the children pick with each child so they can see what their eggs look like as they grow. The last 2 pages are for the child to guess the color of the chick and then color in the color the chick is when it hatches.