Have I got enough space for another one??

cpmatthews

Hatching
10 Years
Dec 30, 2009
London, UK
Hi everyone,

I am new to keeping chickens so I did all my research and bought a house, put some galvanised mesh chicken wire around the house so they've got a lot of room to roam about in. I'm pretty happy with it all and they seem to like it! We put the house and run on some paving slabs to stop any foxes trying to dig under and into the run.

I've got 2 questions really. The first is this: I really want to get another hen, so they can go around in pairs and also just because I have grown to love these chickens. My only concern is whether or not the coop and run will be big enough to comfortably house them all, even though the brochure said that the whole thing can house up to 4 large birds. I'm at home a lot at the moment so I can let them out into their enclosure and garden but soon I wont be around as much and I'd like them to be as comfortable as possible within the constraints of an urban garden with lots of foxes around!

Here is their home:
P1010712.jpg

here is the inside of their house:
P1010713.jpg

This isn't the best angle I must admit. When they sit on their perch at night, usually all 3 will sit next to eachother on the perch nearest to the front. I would imagine that another hen would fit in between the other hens on the perch further to the back...??

This is their whole enclosure
P1010714.jpg

This is them having a bit of an explore
P1010711.jpg

So what do you all think about having another? Should I really be getting a bigger house or will they be fine?

2nd question is this: Our fence, which you can see on the photo, is galvanised chicken wire. Would I be able to keep the foxes out by threading some electric tape at the bottom, middle and top?

Long first post!! But thank you for reading this far and I look forward to your advise!

Chris