Heat for the coop

bobchell

In the Brooder
7 Years
Apr 28, 2012
Mountain Home, Idaho
My Coop
My Coop
Okay, I am very new to this, we are getting our first 3 chickens next week in the middle of the winter so I am kind of overwhelmed and worried. I've been reading as much as I can and my husband and I are still a little confused. He thinks we don't need any kind of "heat source" other than the chickens and the chopped straw because our coop is an A-Frame which is only 4' x 4' but I am worried about them getting too cold. We live in southwest Idaho near Boise, Mountain Home, and the winds get fierce here not to mention it is suppose to be only 8 degrees here tonight! We went to a local feed store in Boise, Zamzows, and they set us up with 2 lamps, one is a 250 watt clear heat lamp bulb and the other is a 250 watt red heat lamp bulb. First, the reflector lights they gave us to put the bulbs in are HUGE and we aren't sure if we even have room for them in the coop. My hubby thinks we don't need the clear bulb and after reading so do I, so I think we are going to return it but is the "Red Heat Lamp Bulb" the correct bulb for keeping them warm when it gets really cold? A few people mentioned the Thermo Cube Outlet which we are going to purchase asap but is there a smaller lamp? A friend mentioned she only uses a regular 60 watt bulb but I read that isn't good because it will keep them awake *sigh* not sure what to do here. Guess my main question is if the Red Heat Lamp bulb (250 watts) is too much for our small coop and is it the infrared that everyone mentions they use? Any other suggestions or help would be GREATLY appreciated. I have started a "note book" on my computer called Chicken Notes just to start keeping all this info straight, lol!