Help me pick my ideal chickens

spacetygrss

In the Brooder
10 Years
Aug 24, 2009
DFW, TX
I'm new to chickens and am getting ready to construct a coop. However, I need to figure out what kind of birds would fit best for me. I live in a large suburb of Dallas, TX and have a decent back yard. I only want 2 or 3 birds and would like to them to be on the quieter side for my neighbors' sake (even though they have yapping dogs---gotta be a good neighbor!) and friendly for my kids' sake. They will spend about 50% of their time in the coop, the rest of the time pecking around the yard.

I've looked through the breeds on the this site and have narrowed it down to the following breeds:
Australorp
Barnevelder
Buff Orpington
Brahma
Easter Egger
Favorelles
Wellsummer.

From your experience, which breed(s) would be best for my situation?

Thanks.

I would say Buff Orpington's or Brahma's although I just love my welsummers.
wink.png

I would go with One Australorp, because they lay more eggs than almost any breed.

Second, i would get an Easter egger, because they are the friendliest birds you will find.

Third , i would get a welsummer. They are quiet, lay a good amount of eggs, and are friendly.
Good Luck.

I have limited experience with the breeds on your list:

Buff Orpington-great with the kids, generally quiet, but loves to sing the egg song and she is the first one to sound the alarm whenever the hawk shows up. Lays large pinkish eggs 5 x a week. Pecking order- top hen.

Easter Egger- Docile, a little shy, very quiet, never sings the egg song. Mine lays large to extra large yellowy eggs (she didn't get a regular shaped peacomb so no blue green eggs.) 6 to 7 x a week. Bottom hen

I would recommend both of these breeds.