Help! My Sweet Chicken is Sick

Rmerlin

In the Brooder
Jul 27, 2015
I have a 2 year old hen (one of four) who seems to be sick. This is my first time having chickens and I'm at a loss. She was healthy, laying an egg daily, eating all of her food, etc. until she molted. She has not been laying at all since then (it's been months). About a week ago she started looking a bit listless and was sitting alone. We checked her vent and it looks like she has been having diarrhea. She's eating...but not as much as usual. She seems to be drinking. All of the other chickens seem to be fine...laying regularly and eating/drinking.

What to do? This is my granddaughter's favorite chicken. Help! And thanks.

Can you take her to the vet or take some of her poop to the vet for a fecal test?

Well here is what I would do:
Check her vent area and gently push on parts around the vent:
this is to feel an egg blocking her vent.
She may have a egg binding distress.
It would cause all her symptoms.

for feed and water do this
(1) in the water put 2 tsp. of unpasteurized apple cider vinegar Braggs or Heinz is sold at Walmart. Put this in the drinking water for all chickens.
Just for her use 3/4 tsp of the ACV per pint of drinking water
(2) feed her and the other chickens this
WET MASH PROBIOTIC.
(3) FOR THE SICK HEN AS YOU PROBABLY SEPERATED HER FROM REST OF HENS IN DOG CRATE IN GARAGE JUST FEED HER TWICE A DAY
3 TBSP OF WET MASH PROBIOTIC RECIPE WITH THREE VITAMINS FOR A WEEK:

WET MASH PROBIOTIC RECIPE FOR CHICKENS WITH ANY HEALTH PROBLEMS
Glenda Heywood

WET MASH PROBIOTIC RECIPE FOR YOUR CHICKENS HEALTH.
ACV by Bragg's is sold by Amazon and at Walmart. (remember to get Bragg's as it has the "brown mother" in the bottom of the bottle.)

My Daughter JoAnna Mertz feeds this wet mash probiotic several times a week to our 10 hens, 5 buff orpingtons 5plymouth rocks, and they are eating it up in 30 minutes.

To make the WET MASH PROBIOTIC RECIPE HERE IT IS