Help! Newbie. Possible fertile egg. Please help!

Muffin14143

Songster
Feb 11, 2013
New England
Hello BYC members,
I'm a newbie and I need help. I have owned chickens for while. I love this forum and have been reading it for a long time. I finally decided to take the plunge and join. I have six hens, and one mille fleur rooster. We were hit bad by the storm, and had to evacuate. I left some eggs in the house (we had to leave fast, it was an emergency) and I think one of them may be developing into a chick. The house was cold enough so that a guppy froze to death (R.I.P Speedy). I saved the other fish by putting them in jars and heating the jars in a fondue pot. That should give you an idea on the temperature of the house at the time. The power came back last night. We have had the egg for about 5 days. When candled, a quarter of it appears lighter, and a dark spot (which appears light when candled) about the size of a child's pinkie fingernail, is seen on the opposite side of the egg. I will get in touch with a man my friend knows, who breeds chickens and has many incubators. I just want your advice on this. Everybody is so nice and knowledgeable on this forum. It is by far the best on the web. There appears to be a darker object wrapped around the spot when candled. I believe the egg is from a five year old Salmon Faverolles (Minnie).
I will get some pics as soon as I can. Thank you, and I hope you are all okay after the storm.

:frow Welcome ot the forum! :frow Glad you joined us! :celebrate

You might look at blood spots and meat spots at this link. I suspect what you are seeing is a meat spot.

Egg Quality Handbook
http://www.thepoultrysite.com/ourbooks/1/egg-quality-handbook/

There is no way a fertile egg will develop at those temperatures. If you were in the mid 80’s or higher, it could happen.