Help! Quail Aggression!!

Discussion in 'Quail' started by Feathers & Friends, Apr 4, 2018.

1. Housing

25.0%
  2. Number of other females housed together

62.5%
  3. Learned behavior

37.5%
  4. Diet

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. Other: please describe

12.5%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Feathers & Friends

Feathers & Friends In the Brooder

Apr 4, 2018
    New Member Intro: Hello, my name is Matthew. I am currently located in Idaho. I have raised poultry for 13+ years (mostly chickens and pigeons). I am currently raising Quail and Doves, although I'm fairly new to doves and quail.

Due to space limitations I started raising button quail and I am in immediate need to address female aggression. My females are pulling the feathers from the backs of other males and females. The feathers are pecked off from below the neck to underneath their legs. The pecking got so bad once that the other quail had caused an open lesion on one of the males backs and they were canabalizing him. Luckily I saved him in time and he has made a full recovery. I have increased their protein, I started grinding their calcium, ive practiced separating and re-introducing, I'm really running out of options. The aggression stops then starts again, and its only the females. Thanks for your time and information on this.

First photo: 29gallon tank, second: 55, and last photo is one of the females that's been getting picked on.
    -Matt View attachment 1325111

Attached Files:

Last edited: Apr 4, 2018
    bantamsrmyfav likes this.
  2. mdees88

mdees88 Songster

Mar 15, 2018
    Lower Alabama
    My Coop
    Here's a few questions that need to be answered before anyone will be able to help you...

1) How many quail do you have?
    2) How many males/females?
    3) How old are they?
    4) Were the hatched out together (brothers/sisters) or did you mix different age birds?
    5) How big is their cage?
    6) What are you feeding them?

bantamsrmyfav and JaeG like this.