TinaMarieofFL

Songster
5 Years
Apr 29, 2018
Hilliard, FL
I have a 18 month old Americauna that is lethargic and not eating well. She did not fuss AT ALL when I picked her up. She also seem very thin. I am a beginner at chickens so am looking for advice. She was laying around all day yesterday so I suspected perhaps she was egg bound. (she is also in a light mount) I did the Epsom's salt soak twice yesterday. Her vent is not swollen or red. I kept her confined in the garage overnight, fully expecting to find her dead. Thank God she is still alive. There was no sign of eggs or ANY waste matter. I have her in the house this morning, confined to the laundry room. She seems a tad better. However, I was in with her to watch to any other symptoms, I witnessed her defecate/urinate. It was large and mostly urine. Since that episode, she was defecated/urinated small amounts.
Of interest, I noted that she was drinking a lot. I read somewhere that it could be a clogged croup (?) so I put some olive oil in the water. I observed that after drinking water, she went to eat and it looked as though the water poured out of her mouth.
She is currently walking around a bit, which she didn't do at all yesterday. I am very worried about her. My vet doesn't treat chickens. Can anyone out there give me some information or advice? Can I emphasize how worried I am? I want to save her but I also don't want her to suffer needlessly. Help!

18 month old Americauna that is lethargic and not eating well.

She was laying around all day yesterday so I suspected perhaps she was egg bound. (she is also in a light mount) I did the Epsom's salt soak twice yesterday. Her vent is not swollen or red.

There was no sign of eggs or ANY waste matter.

I witnessed her defecate/urinate. It was large and mostly urine. Since that episode, she was defecated/urinated small amounts.