Hen being pecked on--new chickens--ADVICE PLEASE

waghmg

In the Brooder
8 Years
Mar 15, 2011
Hi, newbie here that posted under "chicken behaviors and egglaying" before. This is only my 2nd post.

Have 2 barred rocks and a RIR. Have had the barred rocks just about a week. 2 days later got the RIR. All hens. The RIR is so sweet. Being the newbies that we are, know we've already made some mistakes regarding introducing new hen by herself to the 2 barred rocks and the quarantining that was not done. Anyhow, that's done.

My problem is, I looked at the RIR and she was huddled in the corner. When I went out to check the 2 rocks had pecked her so bad her neck feathers are gone and she is bloody. I'm so upset. What should I do? Don't have another fenced area right now. I have a dog who is not used to the chickens either. The RIR is very tame and we let her out from time to time to scratch when the dog is put up in her kennel.

I'm afraid they're going to kill her. Should I do anything to the wound? Some advice would be helpful. All you guys have been great with the advice on the other forum. Please help!

They could kill her.
sad.png
You have to seperate them I hope someone else who knows more comes on and has more ideas on how to help.

You need to clean the wound when chickens see blood they will keep pecking at it. Do you have a place you put her until the wound heals a dog crate something like that I have heard the blu-kote is what some people use.

You know, that's the only think I don't like about chickens.....They're very territorial and can be so mean to eachother. Down right viscious! What you'll have to do, is separate her......I know you don't have an extra space, but now that she's been pecked and bleeding, they will continue to do so and she won't be able to heal.