Hens were now not roosting

Vannahen

In the Brooder
Sep 15, 2019
Missouri
So I have 7 hens, all raised from pullets, have never seen any hostility at all, not even a little. They have plenty of run time 7am-6pm. They have a swing,
Food, treats.... I’ve noticed the last month I have 2 hens that have went to a different roosting bar, the other 5 all on the highest, and recently I’ve been going down there to check and they are walking around in the coop floor and just tonight it was dark out, they were both out in the run!! Is this a coincidence?? I am quite paranoid and worrisome,
As this is my first time with hens.. should I wait and see if this keeps happening? No signs of bullying, no injuries. I’m worried

azygous

Crossing the Road
Dec 11, 2009
Colorado Rockies
To solve this mystery you need to do some snooping at roosting time.

If you go out at dusk just as the chickens are going into the coop, watch what goes on. Here are things to watch for:

-Late comers trying to fly up to a spot between two chickens and they end up bumping off a roosting chicken due to the tight space.

-Chickens flying up to the perch and getting attacked by those already there.

-A bully lying in wait just inside the coop door to way-lay the later comers.

-Those hens you find still wandering the run after dark, take inside and place on a perch. If they immediately get hammered by the chickens on either side, that's a clue.

Most of the above indicates lack of adequate roosting space. The rule of a foot of roosting space for each chicken is inadequate. In order to accommodate all, there needs to be room for wing action. That means two feet of roosting space per chicken.