How Best to Plant My Little Avocado Sapling?

orloffer

Crowing
Jun 10, 2020
SF Bay Area, CA
A while back I submerged an avocado pit in water in a jam jar to see if it would grow. It took a long time, but finally it did, and now the plant is almost too big for the jam jar! :celebrate I want to plant it soon so that the roots have the space they need to grow. Being a complete novice at gardening, I have many questions about how best to plant and care for this avocado sapling. Is there a certain type of pot, pot size, or soil type I should consider? How much light will it need, and how often should I water it? Should I worry that anything is going to eat it? The plant itself (not including roots) is about 15 inches tall, and I have attached a picture of it below. Thank you all in advance!
Avocado Plant.jpg

A while back I submerged an avocado pit in water in a jam jar to see if it would grow. It took a long time, but finally it did, and now the plant is almost too big for the jam jar! :celebrate I want to plant it soon so that the roots have the space they need to grow. Being a complete novice at gardening, I have many questions about how best to plant and care for this avocado sapling. Is there a certain type of pot, pot size, or soil type I should consider? How much light will it need, and how often should I water it? Should I worry that anything is going to eat it? The plant itself (not including roots) is about 15 inches tall, and I have attached a picture of it below. Thank you all in advance!
View attachment 2353731
I have 8 or 9 plants kinda started this way.

I think they are only two years old now. I had more before these 8 or 9, that were a few years old but I left them outside and they froze one year.

Anyways...my plants live in dirt in pots outside.

I'll get pictures tomorrow for you.

I'd move it outside, in dirt, if I were you.