How to let go? First time chicken owner.

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Thaderiver, Mar 23, 2018.

1. Thaderiver

Thaderiver In the Brooder

Mar 22, 2018
    Hello everyone.
    This is my first time posting. But I’ve been all over these boards for weeks already getting good advice.

So here’s my situation. This is my first time having chickens. I live in the city and got 3 chickens from a lady who became a vegan. I’ve only had these chickens 2 months now and one of them quickly got very thin and now she is mostly paralyzed, can’t walk, still barely eats. I know I did everything I could. I know she needs to be put down. I googled the most humane ways to do it. But I just can’t. I thought I wouldn’t have to worry about this for years. Not 2 months into knowing her.

So tell me something. Anything.
    Maybe I need to hear something harsh.

ButtonquailGirl14 likes this.
  2. Thaderiver

Thaderiver In the Brooder

Mar 22, 2018
    Someone suggested to me to make a Craigslist ad asking to kill my chicken.

There is someone I know whose parents have a chicken farm. I have considered driving the 2 hours and asking them to put my chicken down for me.

It’s just that inconceivable to me right now.

3. 17 chickens

17 chickens Crazy Chicken Math

Jul 11, 2016
    Chattaroy Washington
    I know the feeling, I can't put down my chickens so I take them to my local Veterinarian.
    So sad for you!
    Hugs

Relleoms likes this.
  4. LJoWilly

LJoWilly Songster

Oct 28, 2016
    Illinois
    Oh no hun..so sorry you're in this situation...maybe someone will chime in??

5. ashlandco

ashlandco Songster

Mar 31, 2017
    Im so sorry:( :hugs

6. jonalisa

jonalisa Codswallop!

May 28, 2013
    NH
    My Coop
    I live in NH and the local University has a veterinary school and they do euthanasia in a very humane way. Call your state veterinarian's office and ask where you can bring her. I had to do this last Friday.