How to Research Your Local Chicken Keeping Laws: Where to Begin

SewingDiva

Songster
12 Years
Aug 31, 2007
Westwood MA, South of Boston
I have some experience in this area because I’m trained in legal research and I've also been through the process of seeking a zoning variance for our home renovations and I had to research my local regulations when we decided to have chickens.

The following is offered only for educational purposes and it is NOT legal advice. If you feel you need legal advice please consult an attorney. I’m not an attorney.

Where to Begin
Start with your local government. If you live in an urban/suburban developed area it will likely be your city or town government. If you live in a rural or agricultural part of the US it will likely be your township, borough, or county government. Don’t start at your State level because in the US state government long ago ceded jurisdiction to local governments for issue such as backyard chicken keeping.

First here are some legal terms and what they mean:

Ordnance, Regulations, Bylaw: all means the same thing. These are local laws (statutes) administered and enforced at a local government levels.

Zoning Variance: This is a permanent exception to a zoning law granted by your local government. An example of a variance would be a chicken coop that is allowed to stand 10 feet from a lot line when the ordnance says it must be 30 feet. Generally, a variance is granted when there is no way for the property to meet the regulation due to special circumstances. A variance is hard to get, because it’s a permanent exception to a law. It stays with the property.

Special Permit: A Special Permit is granted when there is some kind of non-conforming situation where the structure does not meet the zoning code but a variance is not warranted. Special permits apply only to a particular situation and are not grandfathered. If the structure is torn down the special permit expires.