how to select the right coup and run. I have been looking at tractor supply at coups and runs for about 14 to 16 chickens, why only 3 nesting boxes.

pathomechicks

Hatching
Feb 17, 2024
Are these coups and runs, like at tractor supply any good or do they not last. If you have 14 chickens why only 3 nesting boxes. As you can tell i am a beginner and don't want to waste my money or time. I would like enough eggs to support food for 8 family members and to sell some. I would appreciate any guidance you could give me. Thank you

Are these coups and runs, like at tractor supply any good or do they not last. If you have 14 chickens why only 3 nesting boxes. As you can tell i am a beginner and don't want to waste my money or time. I would like enough eggs to support food for 8 family members and to sell some. I would appreciate any guidance you could give me. Thank you
From what I know, chickens don't need multiple nesting boxes. They like to share. :)

Pass on prefabs. They are nothing but trouble
They can only hold a fourth of the birds They say, underventilated, not predator proof, and are made cheaply.
A coop should have atleast 4 sq feet per bird in the coop, 8 sq per bird in the run, 12" linear per bird for the roosts, 1 square foot per bird in ventilation, and 1 nest box per 4 birds.
https://www.backyardchickens.com/articles/categories/large-coops.20/
A chicken lays every 26-29 hours at the most, most lay an egg every other day or longer.
I recommend brown leghorn, prolific layers with good feed conversion.
For eggs for 8 people, plus to sell you'll need about 20-25 birds and cycle every 2 years.

Last edited:
They can only hold a fourth of the birds They say, underventilated, not predator proof, and are made cheaply.
A coop should have atleast 4 sq feet per bird in the coop, 8 sq per bird in the run, 12" linear per bird for the roosts, 1 square foot per bird in ventilation, and 1 nest box per 4 birds.