How to train chickens to go into separate coops

rockadoodledoo

In the Brooder
Apr 12, 2017
College Station, TX
We have 12 free range chickens between the ages of 9-10 weeks.

3 Ameraucana/E. Eggers
2 Gold sex links
2 Barred Rock - 1 is a rooster
1 Black Sex link
1 Leghorn
1 Buff Brahma
1 SL Wyandotte
1 Polish Bantam

They all get along excellently. Still establishing their order. And we have two coops, they sleep in one all together right now as they are still small, but as they get bigger I want to move half to the other coop so they have more room. They all go up into the same coop at night on their own. How can I train some of them to go into the other coop? Thanks!

Once you wish to separate them, then put some in the second coop (with food and water) for a few days. It may not work, as chickens are social animals and prefer the comfort of the flock.

I've never done this before, so hopefully members with experience will chime in.

You are attempting to do the impossible. Even if you lock them in the other coop for a while they more than likely would return to the original coop when let out. Each coop would require it's own run, and you will need to keep them locked in it for quite a while. As they mature it's possible they might go into the other one if the original is crowded, but you never know with chickens.

When attempting to train chickens to do anything, it's useful to understand what motivates them. Then you may achieve 50% of your objective.

One thing that motivates chickens is habit. Forcing them to do something for several days running takes advantage of this inclination. But be prepared for it to work only half the time since there are other motivations that will affect results.