I can't resist!

LizGled628

Chirping
9 Years
Jun 13, 2010
Rhode Island
My husband and I have six seven-week-old chicks that we absolutely adore. We're talking about getting another batch in the spring, and we want to add some ducklings to the order. I'm a baker, and I've heard that duck eggs are even better for baking than chicken eggs (imagine the cakes! cookies! creme anglaise!).

Do you guys have any suggestions of breeds that would integrate well with chickens? We do not have a water source near by (well, the ocean is a ten minute walk, I sure hope they don't hang out there!), so we would be providing them a pool/artificial pond of sorts. Can they live with the chickens, or do they need their own coop? Our coop is 6' x 8' with three attached nesting boxes. We will probably have no more than ten chickens living in there at one time, and they have a huge attached run (we also let them free range when we are able to keep an eye out).

Thanks in advance for the help. I love stalking the duck forum and checking out all your adorable pics!

Can’t give you advise on what to get but I can tell you that our two ducks and two chickens are inseparable. They were raise together from chicks and ducklings and they do everything together. Well, the chickens don’t swim in the pool but if a duck(s) is in the pool the chickens and other duck are right next to pool pecking around on the ground.
smile.png

Last edited:
Awwww!!! That is so cute! Do you have the pool in the pen with the chickens? I was thinking of attaching a seperate run for the ducks with a pool, so that the chickens don't try to drink the poopy water.

Quote:
Yes, yes, yes. I prefer my duck eggs for baking by far. They are richer in flavor, denser whites, more rich, deeper orange yolks. Once you try them for applications that are dependent upon a lot of volume or flavor from eggs (chiffon cake, quiches being good examples) you will be addicted.

Quote: