I have a breeding question ? This may sound dumb but bare with me I am new to chikens.

HeMcgill

In the Brooder
6 Years
Sep 20, 2013
I have Americana Hens and Cinnomen Queens and I have a Bantam Rooster. I also Have a little bantam Hen that went Broody, So she hatched out five of the eight eggs, and these babies are 2 mths old now but I wanted to know if breeding chickens is like breeding dogs, If I am using a Bantam Rooster with Those hens which are Reg sz, then will they be mixed breeds or does anyone know if they will be Bantam sz or reg or is this all up in the air, I have been told that the Rooster doesnt matter. However that doesnt make since to me so I am just wondering as far a genetics what role does the rooster play. Also I have been told only the baby chicks which are Rooster will have the Dads genes?

If you breed a small chicken with a regular size chicken the baby's will be smaller. They will grow faster but will not get as big as the mom. Unlike dogs it's only with that batch the next time she starts mating you can breed her with a regular size chicken and get a regular size chick. There is no blood line like dogs.

Anything with a mother and a father get half their genes from each parent. Breeding two different breeds together gives you mixed breed birds. Breeding a large bird with a bantam will give you mid-sized birds. Both sexes get half their genes from each parent.

now, as you get farther along, there are some genes/colors that are linked to gender, but I don't think that's what you're talking about here.

welcome-byc.gif

Last edited: